Ads 468x60px

Tuesday, 13 November 2012

Top 10 Goalkeepers Of The Last Decade

In football goalkeeper is the most important player in a team. He is the last man to defend his team while other team is striking. In penalty strokes also goal keeper is the only man to save his team from losing or helps his team to win. There were many legendary goalkeepers in the history. In the following there is a list of top 10 goal keepers from the last decade,

1. Julio Caesar de Espindola

He is a Brazilian footballer who is currently a player of Internationale of the Italian Serie A where he is appointed as a Goalkepper. In 2009 he was felicitated as the best goalkeeper by IFFHS and also Serie A Goalkeeper of 2009. This prolific player started his career as an international footballer in 2003 and was included in 2003 FIFA Confederations Cup.

2. Iker Casillas

He is a Spanish Goalkeeper who also plays for Real Madrid He led Spain to their first championship in 44 years, the European Championship. In 2010 he also lead Spain in the FIFA World Cup. He is one of the best Goalkeepers of Europe also became the first capped Goalkeeper ever in the UEFA Champions League.

3. Gianluigi Buffon

The Italian footballer is goalkepper of the Italian nation football team and played for  Juventus of Serie A. He has a highest record of being called the Serie A Goalkeeper of the Year for eight times. He was named the Italian captain of football team for Euro 2008.

4. Edwin van der Sar

He is a Dutch footballer and also plays for the English club of Manchester United. He  won the UEFA Champions League with Ajax and Manchester United in 1995 and 2008 respectively. He has been titled the best European Goalkeeper in 1995.

5. Igor Akinfeev

He is a Russian footballer who played for CSKA Moscow, a Russian championship. He also established a favorable place in Euro 2008.

6. Petr Cech

He is a footballer of the Czech Republic who also played for Chelsea. He received Best Goalkeeper for several times and in consecutive years from 2004 to 2008.

7. Victor Valdes

He is a Spanish Footballer who has played for FC Barcelona. The most successful goalkeeper of Barcelona who has won four La Liga titles and a Copa Del Rey. 

8. Hugo LLoris

 He is a French footballer. He has been playing for the French club Olmpique Lyonnais. He is also a double winner of Ligue 1 Goalkeeper of the Year. He helped  France to be qualified in the 2010 FIFA World Cup and also was captain of France in that world cup.

9. Shay Given

He is an Irish footballer who plays for Manchester City as a goalkeeper. He won the Football league First Division Title in the year 1995-96. He has also played for New Castle in UEFA Champions League. International success came only in 1996 with the European Championship 

10. Maarten Stekelenburg

He is a Dutch Footballer as a Goalkeeper. He is presently playing for both Ajax and the national team of Netherlands. He successfully replaced Edwin van der Sar in 2010FIFA World Cup.



The Top Ten Everything in World